"It was a drug deal gone bad, and when it was over, one man was dead and two were in jail facing murder charges. No one disputes that Brion Overton shot Tyrone Lyles, but Overton claimed he pulled the…Read More
When facing physical assault charges, it can feel like your world is being turned upside down. Oftentimes, the situation that led to the charges is not accurately portrayed, and the prosecution is going to do everything in their power to attack your character. If convicted, the consequences are severe and have lifetime repercussions. That’s why you need to have an experienced and knowledgeable criminal defense attorney on your side. Brian Karalus of Karalus Law in Minnesota has spent his entire career defending the rights of each and every one of his clients. Contact him now.
There are different types of assaults, and they are categorized into different degrees that result in different penalties, as shown below:
- First-Degree – This is the most serious of assault charges and is determined if the individual physically assaults someone with the intention of great bodily harm, as in putting the victim at risk of death or disfigurement. This is a felony charge with a maximum sentence of 20 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $30,000.
- Second-Degree – Second-degree assault is a felony and occurs when an individual allegedly assaults another with the use of a dangerous weapon. If the victim receives substantial bodily harm, the maximum sentence is 10 years in prison. If no harm occurred, then the sentence is up to seven years in prison and/or a fine of up to $14,000.
Third-Degree – Also a felony charge, third-degree assault can be determined if there is probable cause that an individual committed any of the following:
- The assault resulted in substantial bodily harm
- The victim of the assault is under the age of four
This results in a maximum sentence of up to five years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
- Fourth-Degree – Fourth-degree assault occurs if it is not categorized in any of the aforementioned, and if the assault is against a school official, firefighter, medical personnel, or police officer, or if the assault is deemed a hate crime. This results in a maximum sentence of one year in jail and/or a fine of up to $3,000.
- Fifth-Degree – A misdemeanor, fifth-degree is when an individual commits an assaultive act with the intent to cause fear or bodily harm. This results in up to 90 days in jail and various fines.
If you are facing any of the following in the state of Minnesota, you want a defense lawyer on your side who will stand up for your rights and use their expertise in criminal law to have your charges reduced or dismissed. Contact Karalus Law today.